June financial report

I thought I’d had a pretty good month in May, but I managed to top it in June. Read on for more…

Spending | Savings & Investments | Credit Score | Superannuation | Side Hustling

For last months report see here.


Below is the breakdown of my spending by category as well as the relative % of my total spend for the month.

Savings: $2,319
Spend minus savings: $2,339





  • Health consists of my health insurance & medication
  • Utilities this month was gas and phone/internet.
  • Auto & Transport includes car insurance, petrol, public transport to work, parking etc
  • Gifts was a $10 donation for a morning tea charity thing we did at work. I meant to call that ‘Gifts & Donations’.

I managed to have my lowest spend month so far this year which is suprising because May was my lowest spend and I managed to top that again. I had the lowest spend again on ‘shopping’ which includes entertainment, stan subscription, movies/books and any purchases such as clothing/decor. I spent $192 this month compared to an average of $302/month over Jan-May.

Compared to 2018, I am $4,554 ahead for the year so far. From Jan-June 2018 my total spend was $20,745 whereas between Jan-June 2019 it was $16,191. I think that’s a pretty good effort! That figure is based on actual monthly spend and doesn’t include any money put towards savings or sinking funds.

Below is the actual spend by month for 2019 so far (again excluding savings and sinking funds).


Savings & Investments


During June I put $2,319 or 50% of my total spend towards savings accounts, which at the end of the month totalled $27,183 for both my emergency fund and savings (not including my sinking funds).

I’ve changed the savings goal that you see in these pictures every month to $80k as this is the amount I need for my tiny home dream.



I haven’t added to my portfolio in June. My ETFs saw an increase of 4.2% or $399 approximately over the month.

Credit Score

I checked my score on three major websites: Get Credit Score, Finder and Credit Savvy. My score increased and finally matches on two of the sites. It’s now sitting at 735 on two and 720 on the other. The difference is because they use different credit reporting organisations, two being Equifax and the other is Experian.

Between April 2018 and April 2019, my score has increased over 200 points.



My current balance (as of 15/06/19) was $52,965. My salary sacrifice of $200/month pre-tax has really started to make my balance pick up. I’m averaging a gain of about $1,500 per month increase compared to about $400/month before I was salary sacrificing. It seems to be really helping my balance.


Side Hustling

I earned $1,009 above my usual wage from my job through various sources including:

  • Writing jobs via Get a copywriter
  • Selling items through Facebook Marketplace
  • Savings account interest from my ING Savings Maximiser account
  • Work bonus from my old job (part of a yearly bonus)
  • 5x $5 Woolworths gift card scheme

June side earnings

How was June for you? I’d love to hear if you saved money or paid debt?

Let me know if there is anything else you want to see in these reports.

Credit: Icons by Freepik from Flaticon. Featured image from unsplash. Images created from excel screenshots or by me with Canva.


4 thoughts on “June financial report

  1. Hi Tash

    I stumbled across your blog from the Yahoo article and absolutely love it. I recently joined the FIRE community and appreciate your lifestyle. I have a few questions for you if you don’t mind.

    1) How long have you been working? My super is only half of yours but you mentioned you were made redundant.
    2) What are your views on a frugal lifestyle? Like you save a lot of money yet you don’t spend. What do you spend your money on for fun?
    3) Why is your asset allocation goal $80k savings and $10k investment? Shouldn’t it be the other way around? Your money works harder for you if you invest rather than save. Especially with ING and UBank cutting their interest rate.



    1. Hi Vlad, thanks for your comment and for taking the time to read my blog. Answers below šŸ™‚
      1) I’ve been working since I was 15 (so almost 15yrs) but I’m not sure when my super would have kicked in because I know you don’t get it until you work a certain number of hours as a kid.

      I was only unemployed for 2 months of last year.

      2) I prefer this lifestyle over a more materialistic one. I still spend several hundred a month and still think I could cut back more. There are people in our debt free community who spent a lot less then me and some even save up to 70% of their income. I’m only at 40%.

      I like to go to the movies or go out for food with friends. I do more free stuff like going for a walk. I’m a big homebody, I don’t go out a lot but I’m ok with that.

      3) Currently I’m saving for a home hence why I’m not investing as much. When I need the money in the next 3 years I’m not going to put it into investments and deal with capital gains tax.


      1. That makes sense. Thanks for answering so quickly and sharing so many insights. My savings rate is at 20% and sometimes it depresses me when I read how other people save 40%-70% without knowing what their circumstances are. Please keep doing what you do! šŸ™‚

        Also, I would like to start a website as well, share my insights and hopefully generate some passive income like you but don’t know how. How did you start and was it difficult?


      2. Hi Vlad,
        You could start with something like a wix site or a wordpress.com blog? I find it easier to work with sites because of my university background in IT and Creative Industries. I don’t actually make anything from this website (at the moment). My side income comes from other sources such as freelance writing.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s